Westport GAA

First Win Of New Year

The Seniors recorded there 1st win of the new year with a hard faught win over Breaffy in the Kelly Cup on Sunday morning last on a final scoreline of Westport 1-07 Breaffy 0-09.  Westport got off to a good start with early points from Damien Keane and then in the 12th minute good work from Rory Connolly set up Damien Keane for the only goal of the game as he calmley slotted the ball past the golie.  The half time score was Westport 1-04 Breaffy 0-07.  The 2nd half was alot harder with both defencess on top.  In the end Westport super sub P.J Foy got the winner with 2 minutes remaining.  Next up for Westport is the 1st round of the Michael Walsh next Saturday evening at 5-00 pm at home to Ballina.  The Westport team Tom Higgins, Enda Horan, Dessie Keane, Niall O Malley, Liam Joyce, Nathan Lally, David Horan, Mark Mc Caffrey, Eugene O Toole, Ryan Cafferkey (0-01), Rory Connolly, Eammon Walsh, Dermot O Connor, Gary Keane, Damien Keane (1-05).  Subs Used Kevin O Malley for Gary Keane, Stephen Brodrick for Ryan Cafferkey, P.J Foy (0-01) for Eammon Walsh.