Westport GAA

Westport U13s Win County Title in Style

U13 boys GAA Div 1 County Final


Westport 6- 11


Ballina Stephenites 2-8


Scoring 3-9 to 0-1 in a 1st half blitz ensured that Westport came away with the honours in this entertaining Under 13 division 1 county final in Foxford on Sunday last. At the superbly appointed Moy Davitts venue Westport, with the aid of a significant breeze, raced in to a 1-6 to no score lead in less than 10 mins showing superb accuracy and composure. In a fantastic attacking display scorers during the half included an excellent Pat Lambert driving forward from midfield to score 2-2, Fiachra Byrne 0-2, David Groden 1-3, Mark Moran 0-1  and Emmet Rowley 0-1.


Despite a comeback by Ballina in the second half lead by their excellent Dylan Munnelly Westport continued to pose a goal scoring threat with James Corcoran scoring 2 goals and Oisin Moran also scoring a major. Indeed Ballina can count themselves to be unlucky not to have scored at least two more goals during a spell when they were dominating possession.


The final whistle saw great scenes of celebration by the large Westport attendence who were treated to an open game of attacking football. John Gilmore from Moy Davitts GAA and Mayo County Board presented Captain Peter Carty with the shield at the finish. Many thanks were extended to parents, supporters, sponsors, management and Westport Bord na Nog for all their support over the year.  If this Westport team can stay together over the next few years along with a lot of other underage talent in the seaside town they can become a serious football force in the county.  Best for Westport, bar the aforementioned above, included Matt Horan goalie, Cian Kennedy, Peter Carty, Kevin Mc Guire, Luke Tunney, Stephen Loftus, Rory Brickenden, Adam Le Tourmey and Gareth Jordan.


Great credit is due to a game Ballina who battled to the last.


Westport: Matt Horan,  Cian Kennedy, Peter Carty, Kevin Mc Guire, Rory Brickenden,  Stephen Loftus, Luke Tunney, Pat Lambert (2-2), Adam Le Tourmey, Gareth Jordan, Mark Moran

(0-1),  James Corcoran (2-0), Fiachra Byrne (0-2), Emmet Rowley (0-1), David Groden (1-5) subs: Darragh Ludden, James Gallagher,  Sean O Hanlon, Caolan O Brien, Cian Mc Allister, Kevin Grogan, Kevin Geraghty, Evan Barosso, Alan Mulroy, Danny Mc Govern, Oisin Moran (1-0)                        


Management : Charlie Lambert, Tomas Moran and Padraic Grogan