Westport GAA


The Westport AGM, which took place on December 1st 2015, was attended by a large number of members.  Club chairman, Austin Groden spoke of the reopening of the refurbished clubhouse during 2015 and thanked all the people who made this possible, especially, the contractor Ger Hastings, architect Patrick Grady, John Coughlan and the development committee.

He went on to congratulate the following:

Lee Keegan on his third All Star award and on being selected vide captain in the International Rules Test against Australia,

Mel Kenny who refereed the All Ireland Ladies intermediate final,

Brian Kilkelly who refereed the Mayo Junior final,

Westport minors who played for Mayo in the Championship V’s Galway, Paul Lamert, Pat O’Malley, Oisin McLoughlin and Colm Moran,

Bord na Nóg on a very successful year,

Westport Hurling Club on their success at under age,

The Camogie Clu on their success at Féile,

Westport Ladies Club on a successful year and their club Chairperson Breege Sammon,

Astro Turf committee, John Reynolds, David Blaine and Karen Reynolds.

He thanked fellow officers Sean Sammon, Ann Baynes and PRO, Noel Brogan.

The following officers were elected for 2016:

President: Paddy Muldoon, Chairman: Austin Groden, Secretary: Seán Sammon, Treasurer: Ann Baynes, PRO: Noel Brogan, Children’s Officer: Charlie Lambert, West Board delegate: Willie McDonagh, County Board delegate: Seamus Moran, Games and Coaching: Willie McDonagh.