Westport GAA

Minor Championship(West Mayo). Westport V Breaffy

Westport 2-16 Breaffy 1-13
Westport got back to winning ways in a 2-16 to 1-13 win over Breaffy in the West Mayo Minor Championship on Friday evening last 28th August 2015 at St. Patrick’s Park.
Breaffy started the better and had a couple of points on the board before Westport’s Alan Kennedy (who kicked 10 points in total) in an exhibition of point scoring off both feet landed Westport’s 1st.
Breaffy then got 2 before Kennedy replied with 2 more for Westport.
Shane Gerraghty then got his name on the scoresheet by pointing from distance after a fine run. The teams then traded 3 points each with Kennedy bagging all of Westport’s to go in at  half time 7apiece.
Westport started the 2nd half with a great goal from Oisin Mc Laughlin, running at pace into the heart of the Breaffy defence he let fly from 20 yards into the top corner.
A free and another point from Kennedy before Mc Laughlin netted again looked like Westport were putting distance between the teams, but Breaffy struck for a goal and a couple of points of their own to leave just a couple between the teams down the stretch. 2  points each from Mc Laughlin and Paul Lambert and 1 from Fionn Mc Donagh left Westport into the West Final where they play Louisburg next Friday evening in Islandeady  at 6-30.

Patrick O Malley
Eoin Rowley
Paul Duffy
Stephen Roddy
Darragh Walsh
Sean O Donnell
Shane Gerraghty 1 pt.
Chris O Donnell
Paul Lambert 2 pts
Killian Kilkelly
Brian O Malley
Fionn Mc Donagh 1 pt
Oisin Mc Laughlin 2-2
Alan Kennedy 10pts

Kevin Lavelle
Martin Hopkins
Michael Gallagher
Niall Mc Nanamon