Westport GAA

Minor League

Minor League

Ballina 2-6  Westport 2-6

Westport and Ballina drew in Round 3 of the Minor League in Ballina on Sunday.

Westport playing with a strong breeze in the first half were slower to start and after Ballina got the opening score,  Alan Kennedy pointed to get Westport off the mark.

Ballina then got a goal and were well on top, but good defending from Westport kept them from converting that into scores.  Westport then had their period of dominance, and from a sweeping move involving Oisin McLaughlin and Alan Kennedy, ended up with a great finish to the net from Colm Moran.

This was followed by a point from Fionn McDonagh and another goal from Colm Moran, put through by Alan Kennedy, to leave Westport going in at half time leading by 2-2 to 1-1.  Ballina came out strong in the second half, and aided by a stiff breeze got 3 points on the board, before Alan Kennedy converted a long range free and  another point from Colm Moran kept Westport with a 3 point lead.

Ballina got another point and this was cancelled out by a point from Cillian Kilkelly.      Ballina then turned over the ball and cut through to equalize with a goal, followed up with a point to take the lead.  They looked like they had bagged the win but in the last minute this Westport team worked the ball down the field, showing great character, to level with a point from Colm Moran.

Patrick O’Malley

Steven Roddy

Niall McManamon

Paul Lambert

Luke Noone

Shane Geraghty

Chris O’Donnell

Sean O’Donnell

Brian O’Malley

Colm Moran  2-2

Daragh Walsh

Fionn McDonagh 0-1

Oisin McLoughlin

Alan Kennedy 0-2



Ciaran McGovern

Eoin Rowley

Cillian Kilkelly 0-1