Westport GAA

Davitts 1-05 Westport 1-11

Our Junior team recorded there 1st win of the new year with a 6 point win over Davitts in Ballindine in Round 1 of the league on Sunday last.  Westport got off to as good start leading by 6 points to no score after 10 minutes but Davitts came back into the game with a goal and a point to leave the half time score Westport 0-07 Davitts 1-01. In the 2nd half Westport were slow out of the blocks and by the 45th minute there was just a point between the teams Westport 0-09 Davitts 1-05, but Westport bulled away again with points from Darren O Toole, Pat Conway and a goal by Colm Higgins to leave Westport Winners By 6 points. Best for Westport were Shane Gallagher, Gary Keane and Colm Higgins. Westport team Tom Reynolds, John Groden, Enda Horan, Shane Gallagher, John Muldoon, James Mc Hale, P.J Foy, Gary Keane (0-01), Niall O Malley, Shane Geraghty, Shane Scott (0-01), James Walsh, Pat Conway (0-04), Colm Higgins (1-03), Sean Scott.  Darren O Toole (0-02) for Shane Geraghty, Gareth Gavin for Shane Scott, Michael Mulchrone for James Walsh.