Westport GAA

Crossmolina 3-10 Westport 2-10

Westport were defeted in Round 2 of the Michael Walsh League on Saturday evening last by Crossmolina.  In what was a good high scoring game of football Westport got off to a flying start when a good move the lenght of the pitch was finished with a goal by Eugene O Toole.  Playing into the wind Westport were 1-03 to to no score up after 10 minutes but Crossmolina came back into it and lead at half time by 2-04 to 1-05.  THe second half was close right through with the Westport goal comming from Ryan Cafferkey from the penalty spot after Declan Gallagher had been taken down.  But in the end Crossmolina ran out winners on a final scoreline of 3-10 to 2-10.  Next up for Westport in Round 1 of the league away to Ballintubber next Saturday evening at 5-00 in Clogher.  With the Juniors playing next Sunday at 2-00 away to Davitts.  Westport team vs Crossmolina Tom Higgins, Enda Horan, Sean Scott, James Walsh, Liam Joyce, Kevin O Malley, David Horan, Eugene O Toole (1-00), Mark Mc Caffrey, Eammon Walsh (0-01), Rory Connolly (0-01), Dermot O Connor, Ryan Cafferkey (1-00), Declan Gallagher (0-01), Damien Keane (0-07). Subs Used P.J Foy for Sean Scott, John Groden for Liam Joyce, Shane Scott for Eammon Walsh, Gary Keane for Mark Mc Caffrey, Eammon Walsh for Gary Keane.