Westport GAA

4th win in a row for Westport under 14A title

Westport:  3 gls 17 pts Ballintubber :  2 gls 4 pts


Westport won their 4th in a row West Mayo under 14A titles with an impressive victory over Ballintubber played in Kilmeena on Thursday last.


For the second year in a row Westport scored 3 gls17 pts in the under 14A final.They settled very quickly and by half time were 3 gls 10 pts to 1gl 2pts ahead. Westport could not afford to take their eye off the ball as Ballintubber never gave up trying.


This his was a good day for the forwards with all six scoring and for the fourth game in a row they managed to score seventeen points or more


The team was Eddie Dunning, Ryan Heneghan, Art Molloy, Gerard Sheridan, Niall McCarthy, Jake O’Shea (0 – 01), Kieran McNally (0 – 01),  Kevin Hastings (0 – 03), Ruairi Ludden, Adam McDonnell (1 – 03), Paddy Glavey (0 – 02), Cillian Browne (0 – 02), Tomas Walsh (1 -00), Ruairi Keating (1 – 04), Ronan Geraghty (0 – 01). Subs played were Darragh Gallagher, Fiachra Gannon, William Reilly, Tom McHale, Stephen Cawley.


After the game Ollie Dillon presented the cup to Ruairi Ludden captain of the Westport team.The team went to the Castlecourt hotel to celebrate their win.