Westport GAA

Westport defeating Castlebar in the West Mayo under 16A championship title

Westport  1 gl 10 pts – Castlebar  0 gls 11 pts


Westport won the West Mayo under 16A championship  title defeating Castlebar.The game was played in Islandeady .    


This was an evenly contested game with both teams playing good football.The game was delayed for thirty minutes as there was no referee present for the throw in at 7pm.When the game started it was worth the wait. Castlebar playing with the breeze raced into a 6 pts to 2 pts lead  approaching half time.


Then Andrew McAleer took a quick free releasing Colm Geraghty to  score the only goal of the game.On the stroke of half time Castlebar scored from a free to lead by 7 pts to 1 gl  3 pts at the short whistle.


With the breeze to their backs for the second half Westport got the scores required. Liam Staunton scored 3 long range points followed by one from Conor Joyce. Castlebar came more into the game getting a few quick points to level the scores.Good work by the defence  and midfield meant Westport were not to be denied this victory. The forwards kept working hard and late points from Darren McLoughlin from a free and play ensured they were ahead at the final whistle.


The team was Tomas Groden, Matthew Mellotte, Pat Varley, Andrew McAleer, Keelan Dever, Alan Carroll, Conor Joyce (0-01), Liam Staunton (0-03), Conor O’Malley, Liam Staunton, Darren McLoughlin (0-04), Colm Geraghty (1-02), Brian Mullen, Dylan Carroll.Subs Jamie Fallon for Dylan Carroll, Joe O’Connor for Brian Mullen, Peter Collins, Shane Dunne, Myles Sammon, Declan Horan, Ernan Geraghty, Michael Brady.


After the game Ollie Dillon presented the Henry Kenny cup to Darren McLoughlin captain of the winning team.The team went to the Castlecourt hotel to celeberate their win.